Statuspage alternatives: compare the subscriber cap, because that is where the price jumps
Atlassian Statuspage jumps from $99 to $399 a month at 1,000 subscribers. We compare status page tools on subscriber caps, private pages, bundled uptime monitoring and self-hosting, using each vendor's own pricing page.
Akash Mohapatra · · 10 min read · 12 views
The best Statuspage alternatives are the ones that stay cheap as your subscriber list grows. Atlassian Statuspage's public plans go from $99 a month for 1,000 subscribers to $399 for 5,000, and none of them monitor your uptime. So compare alternatives on subscriber caps, private pages and bundled monitoring, not on the entry price.
By the end you will know what each tool charges at roughly 1,000 and 5,000 subscribers, which ones include uptime checks, and which ones you can self-host. Every price below comes from the vendor's own pricing page as it read on November 5, 2026. Prices change, so check the page before you buy.
How much does Atlassian Statuspage cost?
Statuspage sells three kinds of page, each priced separately on its pricing page. Public pages, for your customers, are where most teams start:
| Public plan | Price per month | Subscribers | Team members | Metrics |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 100 | 2 | 2 |
| Hobby | $29 | 250 | 5 | 5 |
| Startup | $99 | 1,000 | 10 | 10 |
| Business | $399 | 5,000 | 25 | 25 |
| Enterprise | $1,499 | 25,000 | 50 | 50 |
The Free plan also allows 25 components, and a custom domain starts on Hobby. Component subscriptions, which let a customer follow only the parts of your service they use, and role-based access control both start on Business.
Private pages, for employees, are a separate product: Starter is $79 a month for 50 employees, Growth $249 for 300, Corporate $599 for 1,000 and Enterprise $1,499 for 5,000. Audience-specific pages, which show different components to different groups of logged-in users, are listed as "Starting at $300/month".
The Statuspage subscriber limit decides the price
Read that table by subscriber count, not by plan name. A product with 900 subscribers fits on Startup at $99. Cross 1,000 and the next public plan is Business at $399, so the subscriber line is the most likely trigger for a $300-a-month step. Nothing about your incidents or your team has to change.
A subscriber here is a person who signed up to hear about your incidents, by email, SMS or webhook. A B2B SaaS that puts a "subscribe to updates" link in its app and its onboarding can grow that list faster than its customer count. Statuspage also needs a second product for an internal page, at $79 a month and up.
Monitoring is not in any plan. Statuspage's own email automation guide says the most common way to automate components "is in conjunction with your third-party monitoring service", and it names Pingdom and New Relic as the officially supported systems. Budget for a monitor on top of the page.
Statuspage alternatives compared at 1,000 and 5,000 subscribers
Here is how the alternatives handle the same two thresholds, according to each vendor's pricing page on November 5, 2026. "Not stated" means the page text did not give a figure, not that the feature is missing.
| Tool | Free plan | Around 1,000 subscribers | Around 5,000 subscribers | Private or internal pages | Uptime checks included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Statuspage | 100 subscribers | Startup, $99/mo | Business, $399/mo | Separate product from $79/mo | No |
| incident.io | Basic, unlimited subscribers | Free (Basic) | Free (Basic) | One internal page on Pro, $25/user/mo | Not listed |
| Instatus | 200 subscribers | Pro, from $20/mo | Pro, from $20/mo | Business plan only | Yes, 15 to 1,000 monitors |
| Better Stack | 1 status page, 10 monitors | 1,000 included per page | Plus $40/mo per extra 1,000 | Listed; password access $50/page/mo | Yes |
| Status.io | None listed | Standard, $149/mo (2,000) | Plus, $349/mo | Private Mode options, plan not stated | Through Status Automation with your monitors |
| StatusPal | 14-day trial | Startup, $99/mo | Custom (Business stops at 4,000) | Startup and up | Yes, 10 to 100 services |
| Hund | 30-day trial | From $29/mo plus metered email | From $29/mo plus metered email | Enterprise pricing | Yes |
| openstatus | 1 page, 1 monitor | Starter, $30/mo | Starter, $30/mo (no cap stated) | Password protection from Starter | Yes, 20 to 50 monitors |
Two things stand out. Several tools reach 5,000 subscribers well under $399 a month, and most of them bundle the uptime checks Statuspage leaves to someone else. The catch is that their cheaper plans often leave out what Statuspage Business adds, such as role-based access control or SSO. Check those before you switch.
Status page with uptime monitoring included
If you are paying for Statuspage plus a separate monitor, the biggest saving is a tool that does both.
Instatus: 5,000 subscribers on the Pro plan
Instatus's pricing page lists Starter as free with 15 monitors at 2-minute checks, 5 team members, 200 subscribers and no custom domain. Pro is "from $20/mo" with 50 monitors at 30-second checks, 50 team members, a custom domain and 5,000 subscribers. Business raises that to 1,000 monitors, 25,000 subscribers, SAML SSO and "All" status page types, where Starter and Pro are listed as "Public" only.
Skip Instatus Pro if you need SAML SSO or a non-public page, because neither is on it. The Business price did not appear in the pricing page text we could read on November 5, so get a quote before you plan around it. Instatus's FAQ says paying a year up front gets you three months free.
Better Stack: pay per 1,000 subscribers
Better Stack's pricing page gives the free plan "10 monitors & heartbeats, 1 status page". Each status page includes 1,000 subscribers, and each additional 1,000 is $40 a month, so 5,000 subscribers adds $160 a month in subscriber blocks.
The add-ons are where Better Stack's bill grows. Password authentication is $50 per page per month, white-labeling and SSO for a page are $250 each, and sending email from your own domain is another $250. A responder license for incidents is $34 a month, or $29 billed yearly. Better Stack suits a team that wants monitoring, incidents and a public page in one place. It is a poor fit if you need a locked-down page with SSO on a small budget.
StatusPal and Hund: monitoring built into the status page
StatusPal's pricing page lists Hobby at $46 a month with 500 subscribers and 10 monitored services, and public pages only. Startup is $99 a month for 1,000 subscribers, 30 monitored services, and both public and private pages. Business is $299 for 4,000 subscribers and 100 services. On November 5 StatusPal was showing a 50%-off Business offer for 12 months, ending December 15. Above 4,000 subscribers you are on custom Enterprise pricing.
Hund works differently. Its pricing page starts at $29 a month with 20 components per status page and native monitoring from three regions per component at no extra charge. Managed email subscribers are metered: the first 250 are free, the next 750 cost $0.030 each and each one above 1,000 costs $0.025. Hund says "Using your own mail provider is always free," which is the way to keep a large list cheap. Privacy controls are Enterprise-only.
The cheapest Statuspage alternative for startups
For an early-stage SaaS, a hosted option that costs nothing and lists no subscriber cap is incident.io's Basic plan. Its pricing table lists "Page subscribers" as unlimited on every plan, including the free Basic plan, with one public page and a custom domain.
The trade-off is that incident.io is an incident management product first. Its status page comes with its Slack or Microsoft Teams incident response, and paid plans are priced per user: Team is $19 per user per month, or $15 billed annually, and Pro is $25. An internal status page starts on Pro, and customer-specific pages are Enterprise-only. Its pricing page lists no uptime checks, so pair it with a monitor. Skip incident.io if you only want a status page and do not plan to run incidents through it.
Status.io is the closest like-for-like swap for a Statuspage customer on paid plans. Its pricing page lists Basic at $79 a month for 500 subscribers, Standard at $149 for 2,000 and Plus at $349 for 5,000. Every plan includes a custom domain, and paying annually saves 5%. Private Mode, by identity provider or by IP address, is offered, though the page text does not say which plans include it.
Private status page for internal teams
Statuspage prices internal pages by employee count, from $79 a month for 50 people, as a product separate from your public page. If you need both, the alternatives that bundle them are usually cheaper:
- StatusPal includes public and private pages from its $99 Startup plan.
- incident.io includes one internal page on its $25-per-user Pro plan.
- openstatus offers password protection from its $30 Starter plan, with email authentication and IP restriction as $100-a-month add-ons on Starter and Pro.
- Better Stack sells password authentication at $50 per page per month.
A password is not the same as SSO. If a page has to show internal incident details, check that the plan supports your identity provider before you rely on it.
Open source Statuspage alternative, self-hosted
Yes, you can self-host a status page. The trade is that you run the thing that has to stay up when everything else is down, so host it somewhere separate from the systems it reports on. Upfynd lists 504 products in Open Source as of November 2026. These four are the ones built for status pages:
- openstatus is licensed AGPL-3.0 on GitHub. Its hosted pricing runs from a free Hobby plan with one page and one monitor to Starter at $30, Pro at $100 and Scale at $500 a month. The AGPL matters if you modify it and offer it to others as a service.
- Upptime is MIT-licensed and, according to its README, runs entirely on GitHub Actions, Issues and Pages. It checks your endpoints every 5 minutes, opens an issue when one goes down and publishes a static status site. It costs nothing if you already use GitHub, but it is built for developer teams, not customer communications.
- Uptime Kuma is an MIT-licensed, self-hosted monitor with multiple status pages that can map to your own domains. Its GitHub repository shows release 2.5.9 on October 31, 2026.
- Cachet describes itself as "the open source, self-hosted status page system." Its repository is being rebuilt as 3.x, and its latest tagged release, v2.4.1, dates from November 2023. Treat it as a project to watch rather than one to deploy today.
Is there a free status page tool?
Several. Statuspage's own Free plan covers 100 subscribers and 25 components. incident.io Basic has no subscriber cap. Instatus Starter covers 200 subscribers with 15 monitors. Better Stack gives one status page with 10 monitors. UptimeRobot's pricing page says its free plan, with 50 monitors and one status page, is "Good for personal and commercial projects". Its paid Solo plan, $9 a month billed annually, adds three status pages on your own domain.
The free tiers differ mostly in the custom domain. Instatus Starter has none, and a status page at a vendor's subdomain is fine for a side project but looks odd for a paid product.
What is the best alternative to Statuspage?
It depends on which line you are about to cross:
- Near 1,000 subscribers, no monitor yet: Instatus Pro, which bundles uptime checks and lists 5,000 subscribers from $20 a month, or Better Stack if you would rather pay $40 per extra 1,000.
- You run incidents in Slack or Teams: incident.io, since subscribers are unlimited even on the free plan.
- You need public and private pages together: StatusPal Startup at $99, or Status.io if you want a page built for status communication first.
- You want to own the stack: openstatus or Uptime Kuma, hosted away from your main infrastructure.
- Stay on Statuspage if you rely on component subscriptions and role-based access control at Business level and already use Atlassian tools. The alternatives' cheaper plans do not all match those features.
Upfynd lists 405 products in Testing & Monitoring as of November 2026, including every hosted tool above. Count your current subscribers, find the plan that fits twice that number, and compare the bill at that size before you migrate.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Atlassian Statuspage cost?
Atlassian Statuspage public pages cost $0 for 100 subscribers, $29 a month for 250, $99 for 1,000, $399 for 5,000 and $1,499 for 25,000, according to its pricing page in November 2026. Private pages are a separate product starting at $79 a month, and audience-specific pages start at $300.
What is the best alternative to Statuspage?
The best Statuspage alternative depends on your size. Instatus and Better Stack bundle uptime monitoring with cheaper subscriber tiers, incident.io has no subscriber cap even on its free plan, StatusPal includes private pages at $99, and openstatus or Uptime Kuma suit teams that want to self-host.
Is there a free status page tool?
Yes. Statuspage, incident.io, Instatus, Better Stack, openstatus and UptimeRobot all offer free plans. incident.io Basic lists unlimited page subscribers, Instatus Starter allows 200 subscribers with 15 monitors, and UptimeRobot says its free plan with one status page is good for commercial projects.
Can I self-host a status page?
Yes. openstatus is licensed AGPL-3.0, Uptime Kuma and Upptime are MIT-licensed, and Cachet is being rebuilt as version 3. Host a self-hosted status page away from the infrastructure it reports on, or it can go down in the same outage it should be announcing.
Does Statuspage include uptime monitoring?
No. Atlassian Statuspage does not run uptime checks itself. Its documentation says components are usually automated with a third-party monitoring service, naming Pingdom and New Relic as officially supported, so you pay for a monitor separately or switch to a status page tool that bundles monitoring.
What happens when I go over 1,000 Statuspage subscribers?
On Atlassian Statuspage public pages, the Startup plan at $99 a month covers 1,000 subscribers. The next plan, Business, costs $399 a month for 5,000 subscribers, so crossing the 1,000 line is the most likely trigger for a $300 monthly step in your status page bill.
Products in this article
Better StackUptime monitoring, incidents, logs and status pages in one hosted platform
HundHosted status pages with service monitoring built in
incident.ioIncident management and on-call inside Slack and Microsoft Teams
InstatusQuick, attractive status pages for incidents and downtime
openstatusOpen-source status pages and uptime monitoring from 28 global regions
Status.ioHosted status pages and incident communication with uptime monitoring
StatuspageHosted status pages that keep users informed during incidents and downtime
StatusPalHosted status pages with monitoring and incident management
About the author
Akash Mohapatra
Director & Co-founder