AI customer support pricing: what counts as the billable unit decides your bill
Support vendors now sell AI by the resolution, the session, the credit or a flat workspace rate. We compare what each one counts as billable, and what 1,000 AI-handled conversations a month costs on published rates.
Akash Mohapatra · · Updated · 9 min read · 24 views
AI customer support pricing now turns on one definition: what the vendor counts as the billable event. Intercom's Fin charges $0.99 only when a conversation ends resolved, while Freshdesk charges for every AI session whether it resolves anything or not. At 1,000 AI-handled chats a month, that difference matters more than the rate gap.
All prices below were read on each vendor's own pricing page on October 23, 2026, and every one of them can change without notice.
| Tool | Unit billed | Published rate | Billed when the AI doesn't resolve it? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intercom Fin | Outcome | $0.99 per outcome | No |
| Help Scout (Envoy) | Resolution | $0.75 per resolution | No |
| Zendesk | Automated resolution | $2.00 pay-as-you-go | No |
| Gorgias AI Agent | Automated interaction | $0.90-$1.50 per interaction | No, but it also consumes a ticket |
| Freshworks Freshdesk | AI session | $49 per 100 sessions | Yes |
| Chatwoot | Captain AI credit | $20 per 1,000 extra credits | Not disclosed |
| Crisp | Flat rate per workspace | $45-$295 per month, AI credits bundled | Not disclosed |
How AI customer support pricing is structured in October 2026
Four units are in play, and they are not variations on a theme. They shift risk in opposite directions.
- Per resolved outcome. You pay when the AI finishes the job alone. The vendor carries the cost of failed attempts.
- Per attempt - a session or a conversation. You pay for every customer the AI talks to, including the ones it hands straight to a human.
- Per credit. A pooled allowance covers several AI features at an undisclosed cost per action.
- Flat rate. A fixed monthly fee with a bundled AI allowance, after which the terms are usually a conversation with sales.
In our view the per-attempt and per-credit models are the ones to question hardest, because both leave you unable to forecast the bill from your own ticket volume. A per-resolution rate multiplied by your deflection rate gives you a number; a credit pool does not, unless the vendor publishes what each action spends.
What counts as a resolution in AI support pricing
Every vendor using an outcome-style unit defines it on its own pricing page, and the definitions differ in ways that change the invoice.
Intercom bills an "outcome", not a conversation
Intercom's pricing page prices Fin at $0.99 per outcome with no seat cost attached to the agent itself, and says an outcome is counted when conditions including "A customer confirms their issue is resolved" are met. The same page states a conversation is charged once even if Fin answers several questions inside it, so a long back-and-forth is one charge rather than five.
Zendesk bills automated resolutions on top of a seat
Zendesk's pricing page sets Suite Team at US$55 per agent a month billed yearly and Suite Professional at US$115, and includes a small allowance of automated resolutions with each seat: 5 per agent a month on Team, 10 on Professional. Beyond the allowance, the page lists pay-as-you-go automated resolutions at US$2.00 each, and describes an automated resolution as a customer request the AI agent resolves without escalation to a human agent. Committed-usage rates are shown too, but on the page we read they appear in pounds rather than US dollars, so we would ask Zendesk to confirm the committed rate in your own currency before modelling it.
Help Scout rules out the near misses
Help Scout's pricing page puts its Envoy add-on at $0.75 per resolution on every paid plan and defines a resolution as "a single conversation that is resolved by AI Answers without human assistance". It then lists what does not count: the customer escalating, searching the knowledge base, asking further questions, or choosing the "I still need help" option. That is the tightest definition of the group we read, and the page also offers a monthly spending cap that switches AI Answers off for the rest of the cycle once it is hit - the only published cap we found among these vendors.
Gorgias charges twice for the same conversation
Gorgias prices its help desk by the ticket rather than the seat - Starter at $10 a month for 50 tickets, Pro at $300 billed annually for 2,000 - and sells AI Agent as usage on top at $0.90 per automated interaction on annual contracts or $1.00 monthly, rising to $1.50 for interactions above a plan's included allowance. Its definition is outcome-based: "An automated interaction is a customer request that's fully resolved without a human agent." The catch is in the ticket definition on the same page, which counts a conversation as billable when it includes a message from a human agent, a Rule or AI Agent. An AI resolution therefore spends usage and a ticket from your plan. The page does not spell out whether the interactions bundled with each plan are free of the $0.90 charge, which is the first thing we would put in writing before signing.
Freshdesk charges for the attempt
Freshdesk's pricing page bills Freddy AI Agent in sessions, at $49 per 100 additional sessions, and defines a session as "a unique interaction between an end-user and an AI Agent". Resolution does not enter the definition. For email, the page sets the session as a 72-hour window from the customer's first email, with every AI reply inside that window counted once. It also gives 500 free sessions on Growth, Pro and Enterprise, once per account.
Per resolution vs per conversation: the math on 1,000 chats
Take a five-agent team whose AI handles 1,000 conversations a month and resolves 60% of them without a human. That deflection rate is an assumption, not a benchmark - substitute your own. Applying each vendor's published rate to those volumes gives the AI line of the bill, before seats:
| Tool | What is billable | AI cost at 1,000 conversations, 600 resolved |
|---|---|---|
| Help Scout Envoy | 600 resolutions at $0.75 | $450 |
| Freshdesk Freddy | 1,000 sessions at $0.49 | $490 |
| Intercom Fin | 600 outcomes at $0.99 | $594 |
| Gorgias AI Agent | 600 interactions at $0.90, annual | $540, plus 600 tickets off your allowance |
| Zendesk | 575 resolutions at $2.00 after 25 included | $1,150 |
The arithmetic is ours; the rates are the vendors'. Two things fall out of it.
First, the cheapest headline rate is not the cheapest bill. Freshdesk's $0.49 session looks like a third of Zendesk's $2.00 resolution and half of Intercom's $0.99 outcome, but because it bills the attempt, the volume it multiplies is 1,000 rather than 600. At a 60% deflection rate it lands within $40 of Help Scout's $0.75-per-resolution add-on, which charges for 400 fewer events.
Second, the direction of the gap flips with your deflection rate. A tool that bills attempts gets relatively cheaper as the AI resolves more, because the bill is already capped at your conversation volume; a tool that bills outcomes gets more expensive as it gets better. If you expect an AI agent to resolve most of your routine tickets, per-attempt pricing is the one that rewards you. That is the opposite of the conclusion we read in the pricing explainers currently ranking for this question, most of which are published by vendors selling per-resolution plans.
Skip the per-resolution model entirely if your support volume is seasonal and your margin is thin, since the months with the most tickets are the months the AI bill peaks. A flat rate with a known ceiling may be worth paying more for on average.
Credits and flat rates move the uncertainty, they don't remove it
Chatwoot's pricing page is per agent - $0 for up to two agents on the Hacker plan with no Captain AI, then $19, $39 and $99 per agent a month with 300, 500 and 800 Captain AI credits respectively, and extra credits at $20 per 1,000. The page says those credits cover reply suggestions, summarization, auto-translation and knowledge base answers, but not how many credits each one spends, so the credit price cannot be converted into a cost per ticket from the page alone.
Crisp charges a flat rate per workspace - $45 on Mini, $95 on Essentials, $295 on Plus, with additional agents at $10 a month - and bundles AI credits denominated in dollars: $5 on Mini, described as around 90 automated conversations, $25 on Essentials for around 450, and $75 on Plus for around 1,350. That is the most readable conversion of the set, because the page gives you both the credit value and the conversation count. What it does not give is the price of more credits, or what happens when a month's allowance runs out.
For teams who would rather own the whole thing, Chatwoot is open source and self-hostable, and its pricing page links separately to self-hosted plans rather than listing them. Upfynd lists 131 products in Customer Support as of October 2026, and the open-source and self-hosted end of that category is where the AI bill becomes a model-provider bill instead.
The seat bill doesn't go away
Only Intercom's page states that its AI agent carries no seat cost. Everywhere else the usage charge sits on top of a per-agent subscription, and for a small team the seats are still the larger number: Freshdesk Growth at $19 per agent billed annually, Help Scout Standard at $25 per user with Plus at $45 and Pro at $75, Chatwoot Startups at $19 per agent, Zendesk Suite Team at US$55 per agent billed yearly. Intercom's own page shows Essential at $19 a seat with $29 struck through and a note that new customers save 35%, so treat $19 as an introductory number and ask what the renewal rate is.
Two units worth reading twice before you compare seat prices. Help Scout's page defines a contact as "Someone who received a reply from your team or had their question resolved by the AI assistant", capped at 100 a month on the free plan and unlimited on paid plans - so AI-resolved conversations count toward that cap. Gorgias has no seat as a billing unit at all; its tickets are the meter, and the page says seat counts depend on the plan.
What to ask before you sign
Five questions, each of which has a different answer at each of these vendors:
- What exactly triggers a charge - a resolution the customer confirms, a conversation the AI touched, or a window of time?
- Does an escalation to a human cost anything, and does it also consume a ticket or a contact?
- Is there a spending cap, and does hitting it degrade service or stop billing?
- What is the committed rate in my currency, and for what term?
- For credits: how many credits does one customer conversation spend, in writing?
If a vendor will not answer the first question in one sentence, we'd treat that as the answer. The same unit-before-rate test applies across AI tooling priced by usage - we used it on AI SDR pricing, and on what WhatsApp's service replies cost a small support team.
To build a shortlist, start from the Customer Support category and compare pricing pages side by side - then price the two finalists against your own last 90 days of ticket volume and deflection rate, not a vendor's example. If you make a support tool that publishes its per-resolution rate plainly, submit it so buyers can find it.
Frequently asked questions
How is AI customer support priced?
Four ways, as of October 2026. Per resolved outcome, as with Intercom Fin at $0.99 and Help Scout Envoy at $0.75. Per attempt, as with Freshdesk's $49 per 100 AI sessions. Per credit, as with Chatwoot's Captain AI. Or a flat monthly rate per workspace with bundled AI credits, as with Crisp.
What counts as a resolution in AI support pricing?
It depends on the vendor's own definition. Intercom counts an outcome when conditions including the customer confirming their issue is resolved are met. Zendesk counts a request the AI resolves without escalation. Help Scout excludes conversations where the customer escalates, searches the knowledge base or asks further questions.
Is per resolution cheaper than per conversation?
Not automatically. Per-resolution billing multiplies a higher rate by fewer events, per-conversation billing a lower rate by every chat. At a 60% deflection rate on 1,000 conversations, Freshdesk's $0.49 session rate and Help Scout's $0.75 resolution rate land within about $40 of each other on published prices.
Do you pay when the AI fails to resolve a ticket?
On outcome-based plans, no. Intercom, Zendesk, Help Scout and Gorgias all define their billable unit as a request the AI resolves without a human. Freshdesk is the exception among these vendors: it bills sessions, which it defines as a unique interaction between an end-user and an AI agent, regardless of outcome.
Which AI support tool has the most predictable bill?
A flat rate per workspace, such as Crisp at $45 to $295 a month, is the most predictable until its bundled AI credits run out. Among usage-priced tools, Help Scout publishes a monthly spending cap that turns AI Answers off for the rest of the billing cycle once reached.
How much does an AI support agent cost per month?
On published rates, a team whose AI handles 1,000 conversations and resolves 600 would pay roughly $450 on Help Scout Envoy, $490 on Freshdesk, $594 on Intercom Fin or $1,150 on Zendesk pay-as-you-go. Seats are extra everywhere except Intercom's Fin, which carries no seat cost.
Products in this article
ChatwootOpen source AI customer support you can self-host
CrispAI-first support inbox for chat, email, WhatsApp and phone
FreshworksHelp desk for phone, email, social and community support across the Freshworks suite
Help ScoutCustomer support software with a shared inbox, AI and a knowledge base
ZendeskHelp desk and AI customer service software for support and sales teams
About the author
Akash Mohapatra
Director & Co-founder