1099 threshold 2026: $2,000 per payee, due February 1, 2027, and the payments that never get a form
Payments you make in 2026 need a 1099-NEC at $2,000, not $600. Here are the five tests that decide who gets a form, the W-9 trap, a free way to e-file, and the real deadline.
Nihar Rout · · 10 min read · 4 views
The 1099 threshold 2026 is $2,000 per payee: if you paid a contractor $2,000 or more for services in 2026, you generally owe them and the IRS a Form 1099-NEC. The form is due January 31, 2027, which is a Sunday, so the practical deadline is Monday, February 1. Payments made in 2025 still use the old $600 line.
This guide is for US businesses that pay freelancers, agencies and other non-employees. It walks the five tests that decide whether a payment needs a form, the payments that never do, what to do about a missing W-9, and how to file for free. It reflects IRS pages we read on October 29, 2026; see the note at the end.
The 1099 threshold 2026 is $2,000 per payee, and it follows the payment date
The IRS page on who must file puts it in one line: for payments made before 2026 the reporting threshold is $600, and for payments made in 2026 it is $2,000. The 2026 edition of Publication 1099 says the same change applies to backup withholding as well, and that the figure will be adjusted for inflation beginning in calendar year 2027.
Two details trip people up. First, the test is per payee, per year: the Form 1099-NEC instructions say you must report a payment as nonemployee compensation when, among other conditions, you made payments to the payee of at least $2,000 during the year. Ten contractors paid $1,500 each is zero forms; one contractor paid $2,000 is one form.
Second, the threshold moves with the date you paid, not the date you file. A contractor you paid $900 in December 2025 and $1,200 in January 2026 is not a $2,100 payee. Each calendar year stands alone.
The same instructions apply the $2,000 floor to the other boxes on Form 1099-MISC, such as rents, prizes and awards. One line stays at $600: gross proceeds paid to an attorney in connection with legal services, which go in box 10 of Form 1099-MISC. Attorneys' fees for the attorney's own services are a different box and follow the $2,000 floor.
Five tests decide whether a payment needs a 1099-NEC
The amount is the last test in practice, not the first. Work down this table for each vendor before you count dollars. The wording in the right column is paraphrased from the IRS instructions and linked to them.
| Test | A form is likely if | No form if |
|---|---|---|
| Who was paid | The payee is not your employee | The payee is on your payroll; they get a W-2 |
| Why | The payment is for services in the course of your trade or business | The payment is personal, or for merchandise, telegrams, telephone, freight or storage |
| What kind of payee | An individual, partnership or estate | Generally a corporation, including an LLC taxed as a C or S corporation |
| How much | $2,000 or more in the year | Under $2,000, unless you withheld tax |
| How you paid | Check, ACH, cash | Credit or debit card, or a payment network such as PayPal |
Two parts of the amount test are easy to miss. The instructions say to include payment for parts or materials used to perform the services when supplying them was incidental to the service, and a travel reimbursement for which the nonemployee did not account to you. If a contractor sends a flat invoice that bundles expenses, the whole invoice counts toward $2,000.
Do I need to send a 1099 to a contractor paid by PayPal or a credit card?
No, not on Form 1099-NEC. The IRS says that payments made with a credit card or payment card, and third party network transactions, must be reported on Form 1099-K by the payment settlement entity and are not subject to reporting on Form 1099-MISC or Form 1099-NEC. In practice, the card processor or network reports those payments when its own thresholds are met, and you do not.
That makes the payment method a real decision, not just a convenience. Paying a $5,000 invoice by card can take it out of your 1099 workload. Paying the same invoice by ACH or check puts it back in. We would not change how you pay a vendor solely to avoid a form, since fees and the vendor's preferences matter too, but it explains why two contractors with the same annual spend can differ in your records. PayPal publishes its own help page on the Form 1099-K it issues (the version we read was written for 2025); the PayPal listing on Upfynd sits in Payments & Banking, which had 248 products as of October 29, 2026.
Do I file a 1099 for an LLC contractor?
It depends on how the LLC is taxed, which is why you ask for a Form W-9. The IRS instructions exempt payments to a corporation, including an LLC treated as a C or S corporation, with exceptions. The main one is legal services: the exemption does not apply to payments for legal services, so you report attorneys' fees even when the law firm is a corporation. A single-member LLC that is not taxed as a corporation is generally reportable like an individual, and its W-9 will tell you the tax classification it checked.
What happens if a contractor will not give you a W-9
Form W-9 is how a payee gives you a correct taxpayer identification number (TIN). The IRS page for Form W-9 describes it as the form to provide your correct TIN, and lists the March 2024 revision as current when we read it.
If you pay without a TIN, the IRS expects you to withhold. Under the IRS backup withholding topic page, a payer must withhold at a flat 24% rate when the payee does not give a TIN in the required manner, or when the IRS notifies you the TIN is incorrect. Publication 1099 adds a trap: the 60-day awaiting-TIN grace period applies only to interest, dividends and certain securities payments, so nonemployee compensation is subject to backup withholding even if the payee has applied for a TIN.
Backup withholding also overrides the threshold. The IRS page on who must file says you must file Form 1099-NEC for each person from whom you withheld federal income tax, regardless of the amount of the payment. A $500 contractor who never returns a W-9 can still mean a form, a 24% withholding and a deposit to the IRS.
In our view, the cheap fix is procedural: make a signed W-9 a condition of the first invoice being paid, not something you chase in January. The IRS also offers TIN Matching, an e-services tool that lets payers check name and TIN combinations before filing, and says it expects validated payers to receive fewer backup withholding and penalty notices.
The 1099-NEC due date for 2026 payments is Monday, February 1, 2027
The 1099-NEC instructions say the form must be filed with the IRS on or before January 31, and that you must furnish the payee statement by January 31 as well. Unlike Form 1099-MISC, there is no later date for filing electronically or on paper.
January 31, 2027 falls on a Sunday by our calendar check. Publication 1099 says that when a filing or furnishing date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, it is timely if completed on the next day that is not one, which makes Monday, February 1, 2027 the working deadline. We would not plan to the last day; a rejected e-file on February 1 leaves no slack.
How to file 1099-NEC for free, and when paper is no longer allowed
Paper filing is closed to any business with 10 or more returns. Publication 1099 says the e-file threshold is 10 information returns, calculated by aggregating all information returns, for returns required to be filed on or after January 1, 2024, and the IRS penalty page says that count includes Forms W-2. Five 1099-NECs plus six W-2s is over the line. A hardship waiver exists on Form 8508.
The free route is the IRS's own portal. The IRIS Taxpayer Portal page describes a free, web-based system that lets you e-file up to 100 returns at a time, enter forms manually or by CSV upload, and download payee copies. You need an IRIS Transmitter Control Code, a 5-digit code that can only be used for IRIS. The page we read did not state a processing time for that code, so apply well before January rather than in it.
If you already pay vendors in accounting software, the paid route may be less work. BILL says its 1099 filing collects W-9s and files 1099s with the IRS and all 50 states, and is available only to customers that use BILL Accounts Payable. Its page lists $2.99 per form for direct businesses at standard pricing, with mailing at +$1.99 and direct state filing at +$1.49 per form, as of October 29, 2026. Compare it against the free IRIS route for your volume; for a handful of contractors, the portal may be enough. Upfynd lists the tool as Bill.com, and 312 products sit in Accounting & Invoicing as of October 29, 2026.
Late 1099-NEC penalties are charged per form, and the 2027 amounts are not published yet
The IRS charges a penalty for each information return filed late and each payee statement not provided on time, and the two are separate penalties. The table on that page, last updated October 15, 2026, lists amounts for returns due in 2026:
| Filed | Penalty per return or statement |
|---|---|
| Up to 30 days late | $60 |
| 31 days late through August 1 | $130 |
| After August 1 or not filed | $340 |
| Intentional disregard | $680 |
Forms for 2026 payments are due in 2027, and the page we read listed no 2027 row, so treat those figures as the most recent published amounts, not a promise. The same page says the IRS may remove or reduce a penalty if you acted in good faith and can show reasonable cause.
A short calendar from now to February 1
- Now: list every non-employee you paid in 2026, with the total, the payment method and the entity type. Anyone under $2,000 or paid only by card can be set aside, unless you withheld tax from them.
- November: request a signed W-9 from every remaining payee, and from new ones before their first payment.
- Early December: match names and TINs, and decide whether to use IRIS or your accounting software. Apply for the IRIS code if you choose the portal.
- January: reconcile totals against the books after your last 2026 payment clears, then send payee copies and e-file.
- February 1, 2027: the working deadline for both the IRS filing and the payee statement.
If your contractors are the part you are still sorting out, Upfynd's Hiring & Recruiting category lists 232 products and Legal & Compliance lists 161, as of October 29, 2026. For a lean startup stack, see best tools for solo founders.
Check the current rules before you file
We read the IRS pages cited here on October 29, 2026. Tax rules, thresholds, forms and penalty tables change, and the $2,000 figure is set to be adjusted for inflation from 2027 (the form instructions say "may be adjusted", Publication 1099 says "will be"). This post covers US federal Form 1099-NEC reporting only; it does not cover state filing rules, which can differ, or non-US payers. This is general information, not legal or tax advice. Read the current IRS instructions for the form you file, and talk to a CPA or tax adviser where real money rests on the answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is the 1099 threshold for 2026?
For payments made in 2026, the threshold for Form 1099-NEC is $2,000 per payee per year, up from $600. The IRS says the figure is to be adjusted for inflation beginning in 2027. Payments made in 2025 and earlier still use the $600 threshold, so each calendar year is tested separately.
When is the 1099-NEC due for 2026 payments?
The 1099-NEC for 2026 payments is due to the IRS and the contractor on January 31, 2027. Because that date is a Sunday, the IRS rule for weekend due dates makes Monday, February 1, 2027 the working deadline. Unlike Form 1099-MISC, there is no later date for electronic filing.
Do I need a 1099 if I paid a contractor by credit card?
No. The IRS instructions say payments made with a credit or payment card, and third party network transactions, are reported on Form 1099-K by the payment settlement entity. They are not reported on Form 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC. You still keep records of the payment, but the processor does the reporting.
What if a contractor will not give me a W-9?
You must generally begin backup withholding at a flat 24 percent on reportable payments when a payee does not give a TIN in the required manner. The IRS says to file a Form 1099-NEC for anyone you withheld from, regardless of the amount. The 60-day awaiting-TIN grace period does not cover nonemployee compensation.
Do I need a 1099 for an LLC or corporation?
Generally not for a corporation, including an LLC taxed as a C or S corporation, because payments to corporations are usually exempt. There are exceptions, and the main one is legal services, where attorneys' fees are reportable even to a corporation. Ask for a Form W-9 to see how the payee is classified.
How do I file 1099-NEC for free?
The IRS offers the IRIS Taxpayer Portal, a free web system that lets you e-file up to 100 returns at a time by manual entry or CSV upload. You need an IRIS Transmitter Control Code first, a 5-digit code that works only for IRIS. Apply early because the page states no processing time.
What is the penalty for filing a 1099-NEC late?
The IRS table for returns due in 2026 charges $60 per return if filed within 30 days of the due date, $130 from day 31 through August 1, and $340 after that or if never filed. Intentional disregard is $680. The page lists no 2027 amounts yet.
Products in this article
About the author
Nihar Rout
CEO & Co-founder